Register for our Open to the Public Let's Chat Course in Manhattan Beach Saturday, Feb 9th, 2019 HERE!
About Live Courses Online Courses Blog Resources Book a Class! Login

Sex Education Resources

**Note: This page in no way represents an endorsement by The Talk Institute of the following websites. It is merely a compilation of currently available websites on sexuality that parents and their children may find helpful. Parents should preview sites for age appropriateness before allowing their child to view the listed sites.

Sites For Parents (To keep you up to date)

The National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy (www.teenpregnancy.org)

Children Now and Kaiser Family Foundation (www.talkingwithkids.org)

Sex Information and Education Council of the United States (www.siecus.org) - statistics and resources for educators and families

Kids Health (www.kidshealth.org/parent) - provides general medical info on children’s health issues

Kaiser Family Foundation (www.itsyoursexlife.com) - (888) BE SAFE-1

Advocates for Youth (www.advocatesforyouth.org)

Advocates for Youth (http://www.advocatesforyouth.org/parents/) - parent tips on how to talk about sex

Siecus report on parent/child communication programs (http://www.familiesaretalking.org/)

Healthy Teen Network http://www.healthyteennetwork.org/) - National Org. for Adolescent Pregnancy, Parenting, & Prevention

RAINN (http://www.rainn.org/) - information and resources on sexual assault

American Medical Women’s Association Obstetrics and Gynecology (www.obgyn.net)

Sexual Health Network (http://www.sexualhealth.com/) - easy access to sexuality information for people with disabilities.

Kaiser Daily Reproductive Health Reports on Women's Health (https://www.kff.org/womens-health-policy/)

Resource Center for Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention (http://www.etr.org/)

Alan Guttmacher Institute (http://www.guttmacher.org/) – sex education research

Center for Disease Control (http://www.cdc.gov/)

Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance (https://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth/data/yrbs/index.htm)

Child Trends (http://www.childtrends.org/) - statistics and data on what prevention programs work with children

California Teen Health (http://www.californiateenhealth.org/) - local adolescent health data, public policy

Common Sense Media (http://www.commonsensemedia.org) information for parents and kids on current games, movies, and social media sites

Sites For Young People

iVillage Gurl (http://www.gurl.com/)

Planned Parenthood’s teen site (https://www.plannedparenthood.org/learn/teens

P&G - info on periods and period products (www.beinggirl.com)

Advocates for Youth (http://www.advocatesforyouth.org/)

It's Your Sex Life (www.itsyoursexlife.com) - Kaiser Family Foundation (888) BE SAFE-1

I Wanna Know (http://www.iwannaknow.org/) teen site for the American Social Health Association

Sex Etc. (http://www.sexetc.org/) - sexuality information for teens by teens operated by he Network for Family Life Education also provides info for professionals

Girls Circle Association (http://www.girlscircle.com/)

Girls incorporated (http://www.girlsinc.org/)

YouTube Channels to subscribe to:

Amaze - Features cartoon videos on sexual health issues https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXQZTtGgsy6QHH2fg-OJ_eA 

Being Girl - Always and Tampax with great videos on how to use feminine hygiene products https://www.youtube.com/user/beinggirl 

Common Sense Media - Media tips and tricks for families https://www.youtube.com/user/CommonSenseMedia 

Smart Social - Keeping kids safe and smart on the Internet https://www.youtube.com/user/SafeSmartSocial 

Stay Teen - Videos for teenagers about sexual health - https://www.youtube.com/user/StayTeen 

Close

50% Complete

Almost There!

Please provide your name and email so we can stay in touch!